When you have to preface that honesty is a standard when dating, there’s a problem with the pool. But let’s get into it. As much as I have healed & grown, trust issues are not entirely a thing of the past. It may be a downfall of mine, but I don’t go into a situation automatically questioning everything said I’d like to believe that people aren’t typically lying about basic facts about themselves… right?! It seems simple enough to share the baseline of your life. And if that is just asking for too much, then why put yourself out there to get to know someone? Without the intent to get to know, time is being wasted. And we don’t have time to waste.

I am one of the most understanding people you’ll ever meet. I am not quick to judge a person or their life experiences. None of us are exempt from trials and tribulations. With that, sometimes scars are left. For every action, there is a reaction, aka a consequence. Seeing as how my life isn’t perfect, I don’t expect someone else’s to be. Now, my level of understanding has limitations to the extent that I choose to deal with people in my personal life. However, there’s no reason to feel like I am unable to handle the truth. I’m not easily broken.

I wholeheartedly believe, I should never be able to find something about my partner that I don’t already know. Equally, no one should ever be able to tell me anything about my partner that he hasn’t told me. I don’t like secrets & I don’t like surprises. I am an open book. And you don’t have to be that open to be able to tell face-value information. My highest level of respect & appreciation is for a man who will give me the truth without me having to ask or dig for it. If you find any type of pleasure in dishonesty, especially as an adult, find healing soon for that lost child within.

– JIF

Leave a comment